Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors

Jan Link, President/Director of ALO

Leslie Mix, Vice President/Treasurer

Brian Sullivan, Chairperson

Taylor Murgallis, Secretary

Isaac Kastama, Board Member

Kimberly Murgallis, Board Member

Adam Sbai, Board Member

Majida Sbai, Board Member

Shirley Sutton, Board Member

David Whitney, Board Member

Dr. John Yost, Board Member

Our Advisory Counsel 

Steve Mullin

Mr. Mullin is the President of the Washington Roundtable and its affiliated foundation, Partnership for Learning. The Washington Roundtable is comprised of senior executives from major private sector employers in Washington State.


Paul Pitre, Ph.D.

Dr. Pitre is Chancellor of WSU, Everett and also an associate professor of Educational Leadership and Counseling Psychology. Prior to becoming Chancellor of WSU he was the Academic Dean. Dr. Pitre has also worked in Public Affairs and was a Program Management Analyst at the US Department of Education.


Erin Jones

Ms. Jones has been involved with education for over 25 years as a teacher, Assistant Washington State School Superintendent, and School District Administrator. She was the Washington State Milken Educator of the Year in 2008,  received recognition at the White House in March of 2013 as a "Champion of Change”, and was Washington State PTA’s “Outstanding Educator” in 2015. Erin is an educational consultant providing workshops, coaching, and gives motivational speeches, locally and through media.


Brian Benzel, Ph.D.

Dr. Benzel was a Superintendent of the Edmonds School District, CEO of the Seattle Public Schools, Superintendent of Spokane Public Schools, and VP of Finance and Administration at Whitworth University. He was a national finalist for Superintendent of the Year in 1993. Dr. Benzel teaches public school finance at Whitworth University.


Jim Jesernig

Mr. Jesernig is a Washington State lobbyist and consultant representing business interests in labor, environment, natural resources, utilities and agricultural issues. His consulting firm provides innovative solutions in both the legislative and regulatory arenas.